The Search for Spray Primer 2

Its been 2 years(!) since my last quest for spray primer.  One can of Plasti-Kote White was good for about 250 figures.  Great stuff – covered both metal and plastic, with no flaking and did not hide any detail.   Now the can is empty & the product no longer seems to exist.

Going back to my original research Dupli-color automotive primer seems to be the next best product.  What is everyone using to prime their figures?  I always prime white, work with metal and plastic figures, and would like to avoid spray paint.

Update

Dupli-color sandable primer is a hit.  $5.00 at the local auto parts store will take care of my primer needs.  The test figure turned out great.  The metal fig showed off flash lines & minor details I missed when first cleaned & the plastic figures (Wargames Factory and Mantic) have a smooth base coat with no melting or bending.

  1. #1 by mathhammer on August 9, 2010 - 2:36 pm

    P3 primer. I can overspray and it still works.

  2. #2 by Dean on August 9, 2010 - 3:20 pm

    Have you tried checking Carquest for the Plasti-Kote White. Their website lists Carquest as a retailer.

  3. #3 by chicagoterrainfactory on August 9, 2010 - 3:45 pm

    That’s the weird thing. The Plasti-Kote I’ve been using was a craft product from Michael’s Crafts. A search of Plasti-Kote returns automotive spray products such as the listing at Carquest. The two products don’t seem to be the same thing.

  4. #4 by Desaster on August 9, 2010 - 7:47 pm

    ArmyPainter – Great stuff, lots of different colors, but a little different in handling.

  5. #5 by Jimejim on August 18, 2010 - 10:08 pm

    I love Dupli-color. Any my Golden Demon agrees with me. 😉

  6. #6 by L Wizzel on September 10, 2010 - 2:56 pm

    ARMY PAINTER! You can paint hundreds of figures to wargame quality fast. The shader is the key. Please try it. Looks expensive ($15 per can for color, $10 for white and black) but when you figure out how to position figures it actually is cheap.

  7. #7 by chicagoterrainfactory on September 10, 2010 - 7:04 pm

    I’ve updated the post with my results: Dupli-color it my new primer.

    @Wizzel – I have a hard time accepting Army Painter products. I can get the same results at a third the price by shopping at a hard ware store.

  8. #8 by Althai on September 21, 2010 - 7:08 am

    If only Chicago didn’t have a ban on the sale of spray paint, my life would be much easier.

  9. #10 by blakbuzzrd on October 28, 2010 - 11:10 am

    Another fan of Duplicolor here. I use black, dark gray, and white, and always get good results.

    @Althai – lemme know if you want some next time we hit IMMPS. We can swing by an Advance Auto Parts or similar.

Leave a Reply

