River City Hobbies WAB tournament

River City Hobbies in La Crosse, WI hosted a Warhammer Ancient Battles tournament this weekend.  I had the good fortune to attend.  While a good time was had – I’ll not go into detail about my record….  Let me just say it was not a good day to be my General or to be a member of his body guard.

Army list:  African Invaders army from the El Cid book

  • Mounted General
  • Battle Standard Bearer on foot
  • 2 units of Berbers with bow
  • Mercenary Spearmen
  • Mercenary Knights
  • Berber cavalry
  • Andalusian bowmen

  1. #1 by John on August 14, 2011 - 10:12 pm

    Armies looking great as usual, -did all this Hail Caesar we’ve been playing throw you off your game for WAB?
    if your not up for Tuesday. I understand.

  2. #2 by chicagoterrainfactory on August 14, 2011 - 10:28 pm

    I’m actually all fired up for more ancients. Most of the guys at the event were saying the same thing – getting out and playing reminds them why they like the game so much.

    I did not confuse myself too badly, although I could have used some more play testing. Had a bad habit of leaving my general’s unit pointed at a near by board edge….

  3. #3 by PsychosisPC on August 16, 2011 - 9:18 pm

    Thanks very much for attending. We were happy with the turnout for something thrown together quickly and done in the summer. You were not the only one that struggled. I think I played my Romans like Varus.

    Great looking army also. I’m very much looking forward to more ancients playing.

  4. #4 by Allan on December 17, 2011 - 5:36 am

    Stunning figures!

    It is guys like you that make me love playing historical games so much!

    Wish more local players did as well 🙂

    Happy Gaming,

    Allan

Leave a Reply

