Testors Dull Coat

Absolutely amazed by Testors Dull Coat, I’ve never had a spray sealer so completely kill the shine on figures before.   The units I’m currently working on are dipped in wood stain, which leaves a heavy duty shine on the model.  One coat of Testors returned the figures to a perfect dull finish (almost too perfect – a little bit of shine can help hide painting imperfections).

Picked up my can at the local Michael’s Arts and Crafts for about $4.50.

  1. #1 by John on August 17, 2009 - 1:12 pm

    Been swearing by it for years…glad you are on board..I have several bottles of it non spray as well if you want one ask me tomorrow.

  2. #2 by chicagoterrainfactory on August 17, 2009 - 1:34 pm

    I’m surprised that Dull Coat does not get more coverage in various hobby forums/blogs. I only heard of the wonders of Dull Coat when changes in Royal Mail prevented the Euros from importing aerosol cans.

  3. #3 by Neldoreth on August 18, 2009 - 9:13 am

    I used to swear by dullcote, and I can relate to your post. But to be honest, it gets mixed results. From my years of using it, I find it works well only some of the time, and it seems to be related to various factors including the glossy topcoat you use and the humidity in the air. It has worked for me, and it has failed me miserably.

    Krylon matte finish has never failed me, and it is about 1/4 the price. I’m not saying you should abandon your dullcote, but you should give Krylon a try as well!

  4. #4 by Pete on August 31, 2009 - 10:17 am

    Their small cans of flat black spraypaint are also to die for. I just used both to paint up 12 Firewarriors, 4 frisbies of death and 1 Piranha this weekend.

Leave a Reply

