Citadel Washes

When a dozen gamers get together and all think a new product rocks (and hell has not frozen over) – its time to pay attention.  The new Citadel Washes received high praise over at Dakka – surprised by the response, I bought a box to try out the washes myself.

One of the problems with my painting style is a lack of shade – and washes are a perfect way of restoring the shade/mid range/highlight balance on a finished figure.  Below are washed (left) and unwashed (right) pictures of the same Pirate model.  I was able to try out most of the washes provided in the box set:  shirt- Devlan Mud, pants – Badab black, vest- Baal Red, skin – Ogryn Flesh, sword – Asurmen blue.  I’m most impressed with Mud on the tan shirt.  Ogryn Flesh is a lot like the old Flesh Wash.  Baal Red did not do much on the vest – I really should give it another try using the Leviathan Purple instead.  Asurmen blue on the sword is a bit much for a “historical” pirate – but I supect that a mix of black and blue has a lot of potential as an armor wash.

Pirate with wash Sea Dog Pirate

,

  1. #1 by Master Darksol on June 27, 2008 - 11:03 am

    The new washes go on a lot smoother than the old ones. The mud really does look nice on the shirt.

  2. #2 by xenite on June 27, 2008 - 4:43 pm

    The new washes are a more sophisticated mix than the inks which were well…inks (pigment-blast)!

    I have been using layered washes of different colors, and glazing on my new chaos minis for good effect.

    I like them so far, I think that GW did good with these.

  3. #3 by RonSaikowski on June 29, 2008 - 10:09 am

    Thanks for posting some pics of your results. It’s good to get feedback from people who are using them and it really drives it home with pictures. You can see the results for yourself then.

  4. #4 by Dane of War on August 30, 2008 - 1:05 am

    After 20 years of painting I’m also really impressed with this product. Had I not gotten them for free from my FLGS I’d probably not have bought them on my own, as I still have an excessive amount of the older ones.

    I was worried that they were going to be a little thicker than I was looking for just on sight alone, but they go on really smooth.

    I definitely recommend these to any level painter – they are really worth it.

Leave a Reply

