Ahoy, Pirates on the Horizon

Legends of the High Seas is a new pirate game soon to be released by Warhammer Historical.   By all accounts, the game is skirmish scale played campaign style using a variant of the Lord of the Rings game system.  I was a big fan of Mordhiem when that game first came out and look forward to the same sort of gang/crew development that takes place over a series of games.  On top of the excitement over getting to be a pirate, I will be assisting the author – Tim Kulinski– run LotHS demo games at Adepticon 08.  To stay on top of all the updates visit the Yahoo High Seas group.

The first batch of pirates for the demo games are the Sea Dogs from Privateer Press.  At this point, I’m going to call the crew a work in progress.  One of the “problems” with photographing your miniatures is that every flaw and missed spot jumps out of the pic and screams for your attention.  The faces need a bit more attention and I see little bits of under coat peaking out.

Pirates

, ,

  1. #1 by John on December 14, 2007 - 2:00 am

    Hey Rich,

    this looks cool, I signed up for this on friday. Should I bring some pirate models? if so how many?. I have a bunch of Reaper Pirates and I wanted to build some pirates out of extra empire free company and bits.
    Is there ship to ship combat in this game or just skirmish?

  2. #2 by chicagoterrainfactory on December 14, 2007 - 8:21 am

    Hi John,
    feel free to bring your own crew – the scheduled demo games will use 5-6 models per person. The current plan for the demo is to skirmish on dry land.

    I have several “big ideas” for High Seas at Adepticon including a weekend campaign and sea battles – but the set up for these “off schedule” events are at the end of a lengthy Adepticon to do list, so I make no promises.

    Sea battles would be neat, but expensive to set up. I’ve built ships in the past for the WFB supplement from a few years past – but I’m not sure now a spawn powered paddle boat would go over with a historical group 🙂

  3. #3 by John on January 2, 2008 - 10:46 am

    Rich-

    Concering scale for the figures for LotHS- is 28mm or true 25mm more applicable?. doesn’t the historical Warhammer line use actual 25mm?

    I have recently picked up some old grenadier classic 25mm figs lately and am thinking about using them for my pirate crew – but not if they are going to look like hobbits compared to the standard figs..some of my reaper pirates look to be actually closer to 30mm when I compare them to some the stuff I have. So the scale is major factor in what I actually use. The new GW LotR Corsairs..would make awesome models for this, need a box of those for sure, if the scale works.- Thanks

  4. #4 by chicagoterrainfactory on January 2, 2008 - 12:48 pm

    My understanding is that base size is the determining factor over figure scale. But I could be all wrong about that – historicals is a new field for me. Other than looking a bit funny – 25mm and 32mm should be able to play together.

    I like the idea of using the over sized 32mm figures – I think they carry more/better detail than 25mm figures. In my mind, more detail = more fun to paint. Black Scorpion has a line of pirates what I plan to use for crews #2 & #3. At this time I’m not sure what manufacture I’ll use for the last crew – although I am generally impressed with the LotR figures like the new Corsairs.

  5. #5 by John on January 7, 2008 - 11:36 pm

    Rich

    Looks like they the slid the only LotHS Demo back until 6pm on Friday which overlaps with your seminar..I seem to remember when I signed up for it was before your Hirst class. where you running the demo? hows that going to work?
    I see there is now at least four ancient battles demo’s on friday..I can always try that instead. dang.

  6. #6 by chicagoterrainfactory on January 8, 2008 - 8:27 am

    Friday’s LotHS demos are run by the games author – Tim K. I’ll be running the demos on Saturday & Sunday. There was a second demo scheduled on Friday at 3:00pm, but it does not appear on the web cart. I suspect that it sold out & is no longer displayed on the cart.

    In any case – if none of the times work out, we can play a game after the seminar on Friday.

Leave a Reply

