Alien Drinking Hole 2

Sculpting for the alien drinking hole is complete. A standard one-piece mold was created to copy the base of the hole, but for the tusks – I was able to try out my first 2 part mold. Art clay worked like a charm to hold the master while the first layer of RTV was poured. I used Smooth-On’s Universal Mold Release to little effect, the RTV halves firmly bonded to each other. My only recourse was to cut the master out of the rubber. Fortunately, the RTV smoothly cut away from the master, giving me a functional mold. Four casts later & I have all the parts to complete the project.

nid hole resin complete

nid hole tusks  nid hole base  nid hold mold

  1. #1 by xenite on September 18, 2007 - 7:33 am

    Nice work. It looks like you have some fairly clean casts there. Now if I could only get my spiderlegs to look that good…

  2. #2 by Scott on September 18, 2007 - 7:56 am

    Spider legs?

    Anyway, Wow Rich! Two-part molds. Taht’s pretty exciting. I can’t wait to see more of those in the future.

  3. #3 by seba on January 29, 2008 - 6:31 pm

    WOW excellent job, I love this…

Leave a Reply

