Brain Storming a Tank

Apocalypse is coming in October & that calls for bigger guns. I’ve been hanging out at Work in Progress way too much lately & the folks there have filled my head with ideas of cat 1scratch built tanks. Most scratch built tanks are either GW clones or some sort of real world want to be. My plan is to come up with something completely different – based on construction equipment! Ever look at an excavator? It’s a pair of tracks with a superstructure hanging in-between & a big rotating turret on top. Not a very practical military design – but then the 40K universe has never been accused of being practical.

Step 1 is to build up the track bodies. The tracks themselves are in route from Tower Hobbies, two cat 2sets of Academy Plastics 1/35 Tiger I Treads should be more than enough. Keeping with my normal desire to mold everything, once 1 track body is built – I’ll create a 2 part mold & bam, crank out all the copies I need. Great plan, but it’ll be my first 2 part mold and the masters will have a lot of delicate detail. Lots of ways for this to go wrong.  Hope I don’t need to start pressure casting.

Step 2 is to throw together a super simple superstructure to hold the track bodies cat 3together, then add a super sized gun turret on top. (Other wise known as, I have a plan for the tracks & I’ll wing the rest.) I have an order of magnets coming in a few weeks, I can see it now – detachable weapon pods, even a whole train of tank bodies strung together by little magnets.

The last bit is, who are the tanks fighting for? The tanks will look archaic which suits both IG and CHAOS.  Not quite sure which side will get the nifty new tanks…..  Probably will depend on how noticable the air bubbles are!

  1. #1 by Aaron Schmidt on August 3, 2007 - 9:42 am

    I like the idea of having modular tracks on a futuristic tank. One of the things to check out are the really huge land movers that are used in mining operations. The trick with all of this will to make something unique while having it not seem out of place with the feeling of the rest of the Imperial, or Chaos stuff… well, with Chaos I suppose you can do whatever you want, its chaos after all!

  2. #2 by chicagoterrainfactory on August 3, 2007 - 9:49 am

    I have a few ideas based on lift cranes where the body is high above the track bodies. Or super scale tanks using 2 pair of track bodies on independent suspensions – sort of moon rover like. And all of it with lots of rivets.

    Maybe I need to go look at a few of the Victorian pulp gaming pages & start going all Jules Verne on people.

  3. #3 by Scott on August 3, 2007 - 2:16 pm

    Steampunk meets 40K, I love it.

    Go Jules Verne!

  4. #4 by chicagoterrainfactory on August 17, 2007 - 11:43 am

    Notes to self: Dirty Jobs had a bit on the NASA crawler – the platform that carries the shuttle out to the launcher. Tthat beast has a set of tracks, make that 8 sets of tracks, worthy of a super heavy.

    http://www.viewimages.com/Search.aspx?mid=56583666&epmid=1&partner=Google
    http://www.cdli.ca/CITE/sts_rollout.htm

Leave a Reply

