Games Plus Auction: after action report

I had a splendid time at the Games Plus spring miniatures auction. Appeared that 40 to 50 people came out as buyers, and the sellers must have had 500+ items up for bid. The auction was run smoothly, with 2-3 items per minute hitting the sales floor.

The miniatures for sale came from a broad range of companies: roughly one third GW, with strong showings from Confrontation, SST, and Warmachine. Bidding ran about 40-60 percent of retail with most items getting at least one bid (and frequently multiple bids). I found out later that a few Ebay sellers were in the audience keeping up the minimum bids.

I was please to see that all my times sold.
Set of 6 40mm bases: averaged $4
Bag of obstacles: averaged $15
Ruin building kit: averaged $15
Bag of 14 crates: $10

Terrain of all types sold well. Large foam ruin buildings sold in the $15 range. Painted Rail Road buildings from $15 to $22. Three sets of 10 razor wire sold for $12 each. And a number of Hirst builds sold: Bridge $20, Octagonal tower $32, Tomb $40, Bell Tower $50 and Cathedral $66. For the Fall auction, I need to bring in some painted Hirst kits of my own.

  1. #1 by zgeist on March 14, 2007 - 11:43 pm

    I was at the Games Plus auction, too – and I probably accounted for buying half of what you just listed! ;-0 That’s pretty funny. I’m the one who bought the Cathedral (which I thought was a steal at $66) and also the bridge, 2 bags of your obstacles, one of your building corners, a bag of your bases, and a bag or your crates. I couldn’t believe the Tomb went for $40 and the Cathedral for only $66.

    I’ve stumbled across your site before, but after the auction I looked you up again – since you cleverly put those little advertising pieces in all your bags! 😉

    I’m hoping to go to Adepticon for the first time this year, too. If you actually read this, feel free to drop me a line.

  2. #2 by chicagoterrainfactory on March 15, 2007 - 6:45 am

    Hi Zgeist- thanks for droping by. Please let me know if my castings work out for you- my email is listed on the About page.

    Adepticon is a great time (but then, I am a bit biased). I’ll be hanging out at the bitz swap, the Hirst seminars and running the 40K championship on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

